Tie the Knot Tuesday, 10 Weeks and Counting

This has been a slower week than the past few weeks on the wedding planning front, but fortunately there are some things regarding my upcoming marriage that I would like to share with you all.

Everyone has heard of a bridezilla right? Wikipedia defines a bridezilla as a bride whose behavior is seen as demanding or unreasonable. There is a whole TV series about them! They’re mean, usually ungrateful, and make ridiculous requests of everyone involved. Their focus is primarily on ensuring that their wedding day is PERFECT. It must be exactly like they’ve dreamed since they were five years old. Well, I am literally the opposite of a bridezilla. Matter of fact, I’d call myself the brideCHILLA (where is the roll on the floor laughing emoji when you need one?).

With that said, let me share with you a list of what would make my wedding day perfect:

  1. God is glorified
  2. Our family and friends are there to support us, and celebrate with us
  3. Everyone has a great time

Anything outside of that list is not that important to me, which apparently is pretty annoying (haha). Whatever is suggested to me, if it sounds good, we’ll go with it. If it’s cute, lets do it, if it’s free, we can have even more of it. I’m not super princess-ey (yes I made that up), and I’m not high maintenance. This doesn’t mean I’m not excited about getting married, because I’m over the moon about it. However some things are more important to me than small details that honestly don’t even matter in the long run.

Now, when you get to the wedding and see how beautiful it is, don’t start thinking, “all that stuff Keturah was blogging about was bologna!” Just know that I have a rockstar wedding venue and a ridiculously talented wedding coordinator that have been on the verge of strangling me to make decisions! God is good and He is blessing Korey and I with some amazing people. We’re having a “dream wedding” on a reality budget.

A sneak peak of the wedding chapel:

IMG_2433

I also wanted to share that my wonderful future mother-in-love is a jack of many trades (y’all I really hit the jackpot! We all know that Korey is great, and I know exactly where he got it from. His mom is such a such a blessing) . She is a seamstress (and you’ll see her handy work at the wedding because she is making our flower girl dresses), she’s a gardener, home remodeler, and soap maker. She started making soap not too long ago and this stuff is already in high demand. It leaves you feeling squeaky clean (literally) but moisturizes your skin at the same time! Lucky for us, she volunteered to make some for each of our guests, thus we have wedding favors!

IMG_2431

IMG_2430

IMG_2429

Lastly, during our engagement season, Korey and I have been doing some pre-marital biblical training through our church. During this process, we have learned a lot about ourselves, each other, and what God expects from us as husband and wife. Now that we’re at the end of our sessions, we have been given an assignment to interview 4 christian married couples, who have 5 or more years of successful marriage, that aren’t related to us and don’t know us from childhood. This week we interviewed our first couple. They’ve been married over 30 years. Meeting with them was such a blessing. They shared so much wisdom with us, and gave us some very sound advice for ensuring that our marriage stays Christ centered, and life-long.

That’s all for now!

Until Next Week,

http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54493_202_40DDBF7B7206F629AD774EF5794AF5AC

2 thoughts on “Tie the Knot Tuesday, 10 Weeks and Counting

    • We have found our 4 couples and have set up or are setting up dates and times with them! It would have been cool to interview your parents, but we’ll probably get a chance to talk to them eventually anyway! We miss you guys 🙂

Leave a Reply

