No Negativity Zone

Things don’t always go the way we hope they do. For me, when things aren’t working out, I often think that I want someone to listen to me talk about how it sucks, and then join into my “what the heck is this life” wallowing session by agreeing with me that yes, it does suck. Unfortunately (but really fortunately) the people I confide in will not do that with me.

My confidants are uplifting, trust in God, the glass is half full people. So when I start wallowing and wanting people to feel sorry for me, I get absolutely no back up, and most of the time it is super annoying.

This is what they tell me, “stay positive,” “it’ll be alright,” “you don’t know what kind of plan God has,” “all things works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose” (Romans 8:28), or, “trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding” (Proverbs 3:5).

Oh just stop it.

But they don’t. And this is good. No matter how much I don’t want to hear it, it is necessary to be heard. Sometimes my spirit needs a good reminding that God is in control, and He has my very best interest at heart.

What kind of constant state would I be in if I let the people around me fed into my cast down spirits? I imagine that I would walk around depressed and feeling sorry for myself. I wouldn’t be very encouraging or uplifting. I wouldn’t be positive. Basically, I’d be a Debbie Downer – and who wants that in their life?

The crazy thing is, I know exactly who to go to in order to feed  into my negativity. When I’ve chosen that route, I’ve left the conversation feeling worse than when it started.  So I continue to seek the ones who drive me bananas with their Christ centered reminders. I think I choose to confide in those people because in the end my spirit knows exactly what it needs. Do I walk away from the conversation feeling as free as a bird, walking around singing “I ain’t got no worries”? Ummm.. no. The encouraging reminders and the “you’re not supposed to think that way” declarations, usually do not work instantly. It’s not magic. My annoyance duration varies, but thankfully, I usually come around.

I know how easy it is to complain (especially in my profession). I could write a dictionary length book full of all of my “it’s not fair” moments. But the word of God says, “Do all things without complaining and disputing, that you may become blameless and harmless, children of God without fault in the midst of a crooked and perverse generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world, holding fast the word of life, so that I may rejoice in the day of Christ that I have not run in vain or labored in vain (Philippians 2:14-16). I am trying, although not always successfully, to apply this to my daily life.

Do me a favor, and don’t start trying to remember all the things you have heard me complain about. I am sure you have heard plenty. I don’t always do a great job of remaining positive and complaint free, but I am working on it. Feel free to hold me accountable at any time. Initially, I may be a little annoyed with you, but the message will be received.

5 thoughts on “No Negativity Zone

  1. Wow! So true haha. The people I am close REFUSE to let me have my moment. They endlessly shut me down and I keep going back 😦 haha. They force me to grow. “My annoyance duration varies, but thankfully, I usually come around.” I LOL’d. This whole post is so true. You have so much wisdom!

    • I was just talking about this to my family last night. Even though it’s frustrating at the time, and you don’t always want to hear “pray about it” and “God has a better plan,” it’s necessary and I’m so grateful.

      • Yes! Very necessary. I really love your style of writing, you have an amazing gift. I will definitely be coming back here 🙂

      • I really appreciate that! What a great compliment! Had you not come by, I wouldn’t have been able to read yours – which I am also enjoying! I’m in the midst of leaving you a probably way too long comment haha.

Leave a Reply

